About London Lawyers’ Symphony Orchestra

London Lawyers’ Symphony Orchestra (‘LLSO’) aims to perform a variety of works from the classical to more recent repertoire.  The Orchestra performs two concerts on its own each year (usually in November and April) and accompanies the choir in one or more of their choral concerts.

For more details of our previous orchestra performances, click here.

Vacancies for Musicians

We are always very happy to welcome new members.

We regularly programme concertos in which one of our members plays the solo part.

Playing Standard & Auditions

There are usually no auditions for the orchestra, but as a guide, members have normally reached Grade 8.  Selection procedures occasionally have to be applied in relation to any over-subscribed woodwind seats (although we also keep a waiting list for these instruments).


The orchestra meets on Tuesday evenings during the season (September to June) from 7.00pm to 9.30pm next to Euston Station. Please register as a member to receive updates about our rehearsal dates. Our current schedule can be found here.

Further Information and Contact

To find out more about becoming a Member, Patron or Friend, you can contact us here.


We have always engaged professional conductors for the orchestra. We also offer opportunities to emerging conductors in the early stages of their careers through bursary scheme (e.g. Jonathan Mann conducted our April 2010 concert).

Previous conductors include:

Stephanie Childress (https://stephaniechildress.com/)

Pablo Urbina (http://pablourbinainmusic.com).

Rebecca Miller (http://www.rebeccamiller.net/);

Paul Hoskins (http://www.paulhoskins.net/);

Benjamin Pope (http://www.benpope.com/Site/Welcome.html);

Matthew Willis ( https://kewwindorchestra.org.uk/about/md/).


Orchestral Repertoire

Recent orchestra-only programmes have included:

  • Arutyunyan: Trumpet Concerto
  • Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3
  • Beethoven: Symphony No.7: Piano Concerto No. 2 & No. 5
  • Berlioz: Les nuits d’été
  • Bernstein: Three Dance Episodes (from On the Town)
  • Borodin: Symphony No. 2
  • Boyce: Symphony No. 1
  • Brahms: Symphony No. 1 and No. 4; Tragic Overture
  • Britten: Passacaglia & Four Sea Interludes (Peter Grimes)
  • Chabrier: España
  • Chausson: Symphony in B flat
  • Copland: Appalachian Spring
  • Crusell: Clarinet Concerto No. 2
  • Dvorák: Symphony Nos. 5, 8 and No. 9 (From the New World)
  • Elgar: Enigma Variations
  • Gershwin: Cuban Overture
  • Glinka: Ruslan & Ludmilla Overture
  • Grieg: Piano Concerto; Peer Gynt Suite No. 1
  • Haydn: Symphony No. 49
  • Humperdinck: Overture from Hänsel and Gretel
  • MacCunn: Land of the Mountain and the Flood
  • Mahler: Symphony No. 4
  • Mascagni: Prelude, Siciliana & Intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana
  • Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 and Violin Concerto
  • Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition
  • Nielsen: Symphony No. 5
  • Richard Norris: Symphony in (approximately) 15 minutes (world premiere)
  • Prokoviev: Suite from Romeo & Juliet
  • Rossini: Thieving Magpie Overture
  • Saints-Saëns: Symphony No. 3
  • Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 2 and Festive Overture; Cello Concerto No. 1
  • Sibelius: Karelia Suite; Swan of Tuonela; Symphony No. 2, Violin Concerto in D minor; Finlandia
  • Smetana: Vysehrad & Vltava
  • Strauss: Serenda in E flat; Four Last Songs
  • Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture; Symphony No. 5 & No. 6
  • Vaughan Williams: Dives & Lazarus; Tallis Fantasia
  • Verdi: Requiem
  • Wagner: Overtures from Die Meistersinger, Tannhäuser & Flying Dutchman
  • Weber: Clarinet Concerto No. 2